India Nature Tourism World

Tiger Population in India

Tiger Population in India

Tiger Population in India – India is the home to 75% of the World’s total tiger population. India’s tiger made it possible to protect the big cat family – which is an example for the world. From 2006 to 2023 the tiger population in India almost doubled as per the report by the Ministry of Forest and National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA).

Tiger Population in India

The tiger population of India is 3,167 as of 2023, as reported by the National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA). In 2006 the number of tigers in India is around 1,411 which is almost doubled in 2022.


With 785 tigers as per the latest tiger estimation exercise, MP is the Leading Tiger State of India followed by Karnataka (563) & Uttarakhand (560), and Maharashtra (444).

To protect the big cat family India started “Project Tiger” in 1973 and after the 50th year, the result says everything. “Project Tiger” helps to protect and conserve the tiger bringing an effective change. Emphasizing creating more tiger reserves, creating awareness on #SaveTiger, effective major to stop animal trafficking and killing of tigers, invest more in the field of tiger conservation- ultimately help to increase the tiger population in the State.

Even after taking such steps still their life is in danger. Many states are there like Odisha, Andhrapradesh, and Chhatisgarh need more extra care as the number of tigers is gradually decreasing there.

Corbett went from 231 (2018) to 260 (2022), the only Tiger Reserve in India with a 200+ tiger population and Rajaji’s number went from 38 (2018) to 54 (2022).



About Author

Love For Mother Nature

You may also like

India Nature Tourism

Sunderban National Park & Tiger Reserve

Sundarban National Park  is the world’s largest mangrove area formed by the confluence of Brahmaputra, Ganga, and Meghna in the
Nature Tourism

Facts about India’s largest Lagoon

Facts about India’s largest Lagoon Chilika lake is situated in Odisha and spreads over the Puri, Khordha and Ganjam districts.At
error: Content is protected !!